To the former bread store

An important point of the basic supply at that time

[Translate to English:] © Foto: tiscover

The shingle-roofed picturesque cottage from the 17th century has two corner towers with romantic keyhole embrasures. Here the three Melk bakers operated a joint sales outlet.

In old age, one of them or a baker's widow was allowed to live here and earn money from the sale of bread. Besides the bakers (1277) and butchers (1281), the clothiers (1340), tailors (1433), bladesmiths and knifemakers (1459) belong to the earliest Melk guilds.